Sebastian Giovinco caps off superb 2015 with Landon Donovan MLS MVP award

Who had a better 2015 Major League Soccer season than Sebastian Giovinco?

Even if there were a debate, which there really was none, any doubts were settled on Wednesday when the league named the Italian the 2015 Landon Donovan MLS MVP. Giovinco capped off an astounding season with 22 goals and 16 assists, breaking Chris Wondolowski’s record for combined points in a season (34 in 2012).

The award is Giovinco’s third major hardware this season, after winning the Golden Boot and Newcomer of the Year awards. The 28-year old was also named to the MLS Best XI.

The Toronto FC forward becomes the first winner of the award in franchise history, granted the organization has only been in existence since 2007. Additionally, Giovinco’s presence largely contributed to the Canadian side qualifying for the MLS Cup Playoffs for the first time in team history.

List of previous MLS MVP award winners:

2015: Sebastian Giovinco – Toronto FC

2014: Robbie Keane – LA Galaxy

2013: Mike Magee – Chicago Fire

2012: Chris Wondolowski – San Jose Earthquakes

2011: Dwayne De Rosario – D.C. United

2010: David Ferreira – FC Dallas

2009: Landon Donovan – LA Galaxy

2008: Guillermo Barros Schelotto – Columbus Crew

2007: Luciano Emilio – D.C. United

2006: Christian Gómez – D.C. United

2005: Taylor Twellman – New England Revolution

2004: Amado Guevara – MetroStars

2003: Preki – Kansas City Wizards

2002: Carlos Ruiz – LA Galaxy

2001: Alex Pineda Chacón – Miami Fusion

2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards

1999: Jason Kreis – Dallas Burn

1998: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United

1997: Preki – Kansas City Wizards

1996: Carlos Valderrama – Tampa Bay Mutiny