NWSL Playoff Bracket Set

The NWSL (National Women’s Soccer League) is set to begin its playoff competition between the top four teams in the league. The playoffs are played as a single-elimination tournament with the No. 1 Seed hosting the No.4 team and the No. 2 Seed hosting No. 3.

Following their 3-1 win against Sky Blue FC, Portland Thorns FC won the NWSL Shield by finishing on top of the league with 41 points (12-3-5). The team won the first-ever NWSL Championship in 2013 and will look for the chance to compete again for the title when they host No. 4 Seed Western New York Flash on October 2nd.

The Thorns notched an impressive 12-game unbeaten streak at the beginning of their season, the second-longest stretch in NWSL history behind Seattle Reign FC’s 16 match run in 2014. Mark Parson’s team also led the league in Home wins and tied FC Kansas City and the Washington Spirit for away wins.

For their part, Western New York Flash (9-6-5) have the season’s Golden Boot winner Lynn Williams. The 23-year-old forward notched 11 goals and 5 assists in 19 appearances. The Flash also won the NWSL Shield in 2013.

On the other side of the bracket, the Washington Spirit (12-5-3) will host the Chicago Red Stars (9-5-6) on September 30th. This will be the Spirit’s third consecutive playoff run, though the team has yet to make it to the finals. The Chicago Red Stars were also in the playoffs last year, but have not competed in a NWSL Championship match.

The two teams faced each other in the final match of the season on September 24th where the Red Stars defeated the Spirit 3-1. Chicago was without goalkeeper Alyssa Naeher and forward Stephanie McCaffrey due to injuries, and it’s yet to be seen whether or not they’ll be healthy enough for the semi-final match up.

The winners of the semi-final rounds will face off in Houston on October 9th for the league’s 4th Championship. All three matches will be broadcast on FS1.

Photo Credit: NWSLSoccer.com